Words from our competition winner

I first became aware of the Last Ocean project when Peter Young gave a presentation in Dunedin earlier this year. As a writer and filmmaker I was already somewhat aware of the unique beauty and incredible rarity of the Ross Sea, however Peter’s presentation really woke me up to the risks posed to it by commercial long-lining.

When the film competition was announced I didn’t hesitate to begin planning a film – one look at the top prize of a trip to the sub-Antarctic islands was all I needed to spur me into action.

I live in Port Chalmers, the main harbour town of Dunedin. From here, many expeditions have departed for the Antarctic region.

Above the town stands a stone monolith commemorating the doomed expedition of Robert Falcon Scott and his crew on the Terra Nova in 1910. I decided to use this very real link to Antarctica and the Ross Sea as a hook for my film.

New Zealand stands at the gateway to Antarctica – and in my mind that position carries a responsibility to care for it and take an active role as stewards of the last great wilderness of Earth.

I will use the trip south to further my research and gather photographs for a book I am writing about whaling in New Zealand. I would like to thank Peter and the Last Ocean Charitable Trust for opening our eyes to this incredible corner of the world and the urgent need to protect it for the future

Bill Morris.

Leave a Reply

